Social News XYZ     

UN Committee Against Torture to review Benin, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Germany, Mexico, South Africa, and the United Kingdom

UN Committee Against Torture to review Benin, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Germany, Mexico, South Africa, and the United Kingdom
Download logo
The UN Committee Against Torture will meet in Geneva from 23 April to 17 May, 2019 to review Benin, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Germany, Mexico, South Africa, and the United Kingdom.

The above are among the 166 States parties to the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, and so are required to undergo regular reviews on how they are implementing the Convention and the Committee’s previous recommendations.

The public sessions will be held in the first floor conference room of Palais Wilson in Geneva on the following schedule:

Wednesday, 24 April 10:00-13:00 DRC
Thursday, 25 April 10:00-13:00 Mexico

 

15:00-18:00 DRC

Friday, 26 April 15:00-18:00 Mexico
Monday, 29 April 10:00-13:00 Germany
Tuesday, 30 April 10:00-13:00 South Africa

15:00-18:00 Germany

Wednesday, 1 May 15:00-18:00 South Africa
Thursday, 2 May 10:00-13:00 Benin
Friday, 3 May 15:00-18:00 Benin
Tuesday, 7 May 10:00-13:00 United Kingdom
Wednesday, 8 May 15:00-18:00 United Kingdom

The Committee will publish its findings on the respective States on 17 May and hold a press conference (to be confirmed).

The recommended hashtag for the meeting is #CAT66 and the sessions will be webcast live at http://webtv.un.org/live

Further information about the session is available on the session Web page. Further information is also available regarding media accreditation.

For more information and media requests please contact Julia Grønnevet +41 (0) 22 917 9310 jgronnevet@ohchr.org.

Distributed by APO Group on behalf of Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR).

Facebook Comments

Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: