Social News XYZ     

Mumbai Indians recall dramatic 2017 IPL final win

Mumbai Indians recall dramatic 2017 IPL final win
Mumbai, May 21 (SocialNews.XYZ) Mumbai Indians on Thursday celebrated the third anniversary of them winning the third Indian Premier League title in 2017. MI had beaten Rising Pune Supergiant in a thriller of a final in Hyderabad to win the title and thus became the first franchise to win the IPL three times.

In what turned out to be a low scoring thriller, MI were restricted to 129/8 in their 20 overs. RPS seemed to be cruising towards the win but Mitchell Johnson and Jasprit Bumrah then led a late collapse.

It eventually came down to RPS needing 12 to win off the last over bowled by Johnson. Manoj Tiwary was on strike and captain Steve Smith was on 51 at the other end. Tiwary hit Johnson for a four off the first ball but then was caught at long on off the next. The batsmen crossed over and it was Smith who faced the next ball.


Johnson got his former Australian teammate off that very ball, with Smith hitting it straight to sweeper cover. Johnson was denied the hat-trick but the two wickets did the trick and MI eventually sealed a one-run win.

MI on Thursday tweeted stats from the tournament and videos of that day, including the trophy presentation and the party that was held later.

Source: IANS

Facebook Comments
Mumbai Indians recall dramatic 2017 IPL final win

About Gopi

Gopi Adusumilli is a Programmer. He is the editor of SocialNews.XYZ and President of AGK Fire Inc.

He enjoys designing websites, developing mobile applications and publishing news articles on current events from various authenticated news sources.

When it comes to writing he likes to write about current world politics and Indian Movies. His future plans include developing SocialNews.XYZ into a News website that has no bias or judgment towards any.

He can be reached at

PHP Code Snippets Powered By :
%d bloggers like this: